How do I change the behavior of the firmware update process?

NoteThe following instructions apply only to updating firmware using local storage (SD card or USB drive).

The standard behavior of a .bsfw update file is to delete itself from the local storage once the firmware update process is complete and the player reboots. However, depending on your setup, an alternate behavior may be preferable. If you’re using a single USB drive to set up many players, for example, you might want the update file to remain on the card after updating or to not update the player if it already has a newer version of firmware.

To alter the update behavior as described below, append all the text after the asterisk (*) to the name of the .bsfw or update file. For example, to apply the *_save.bsfw characteristic to an update file named “brightsignXD-4.4.82-update.bsfw”, rename it “brightsignXD-4.4.82-update_save.bsfw”.

*_save.bsfw 

The update file will not be deleted after the update is applied. The device will not automatically reboot after applying the update until the storage device containing the update file is removed.

*_newer.bsfw

The update will only be applied if the firmware file is newer than the installed firmware on the unit. The file is not deleted after the update process is completed. If booting up in Safe Mode, the firmware update will always be applied because the firmware version of the player cannot be checked beforehand.

*_different.bsfw

The update will only be applied if the version of the update file does not match the current firmware version of the player. The file is not deleted after the update process is completed.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Can't find what looking for? Try to
Powered by Zendesk